top of page

Starting High School Online

By Lucas Menendez-Hassel

Since elementary, I have been wondering what high school would be like. Ever since COVID-19, everybody's world has been turned upside down. Some students have struggled with the change, while others prefer it.

Life has changed drastically due to the pandemic, and in-person school was just one of the things we had to give up. Going from middle school to high school didn’t feel like much of a change. Sometimes I even forget that I’m in the 9th grade. Personally, the biggest reality check was the amount of work being given to me. Last year, virtual school was almost too easy. Class was shortened to 45 minutes, and the work was less. This year, classes are about an hour and twenty minutes long. I’ve almost forgotten what it was like learning for so long. In classes like gym I was given much more work compared to last year. My math assignments took longer to do, and it felt like I needed more motivation to get to class.

Freshman Will Lonnett said “I was having some problems in the first quarter with homework, but after a while in school I was able to catch up. Virtual school was very hard to get used to, but I finally figured it out.” I bet that many students can relate to this.

Freshman Deanna Tipler discussed her experience with transitioning from middle school to high school. “I was kind of nervous, but in the end it wasn’t that bad. Some classes are more difficult in middle school, but overall the virtual classes are more relaxing for me.”


Many 9th graders have had mixed feelings with this transition. Some say it’s been difficult, and others say it has been relaxing. As of now, we still have until January to be back in school, but we have to get through this learning obstacle, and stay on track for the rest of the school year. For now, I haven’t had that high school experience that everyone seems to talk about. I just need to look forward to the future and wait to see what it’ll be like.


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page