top of page

Dressed For Success

By Bellla Ghile


It’s precisely 8:05 a.m., and I’m still slumped in my bed—who’s with me? But of course, from underneath my duvet cover that blankets me from neck to toe, I stick my hand out of the comforting warmth, precisely 98.4℉, just to grab a glowing rectangular device that may be my phone, that is somehow still alive, but I’m drained. The silent vibrations that quaked from underneath my pillow, that had woken me up, are now blaring shrieks of a sound that radiates the noise of my angry mother, whom I very much love, cherish, and wish I had a mute button for. But I’m forced with no choice but to go to class as it is now 8:07 a.m.


This is how most mornings start for me; unmotivated, unprepared, and sleep-

Dr. Cronin, interviewing prospective employees deprived, and not to mention sad. But I

have an impression that many other high schoolers and teachers alike share this feeling. When asked in a poll, “Do most HHS students and teachers even bother to get dressed when our mornings begin this way,” responses show that 36.4% of students stayed in their pajamas, whereas 28.6% did change, and 29.2% said it depends on the day. The remaining 5.8% of answers varied from typically waiting till lunch to change to sleeping in their regular clothing, so there was no need to change.

When asked why they changed, students were ready to “dress-up” to fight back with their logistical responses! The majority said it made them feel productive, this made up 59% of the responses. In my opinion, I could snap on a black suit and wear glasses and suddenly I’m Dr. Scott Brabrand- though I would actually close school on snow days. Another 5% said they don’t like their pajamas, and 7.5% said their parents force them. Mrs. McGee, always wears slippers to teach

and has her dog at her feet.

“Sometimes I really don’t care, it just depends how I’m feeling,” said one student, and I’ve never seen a truer statement. So much of what we do is based on how we feel. We, as students of a public high school, are given free range as long as it's within the dress code. We can choose whatever we wear, but tend to wear appropriate clothing instead of pajamas because others will see us and we could be judged. So, if we are home, it makes perfect sense why we wouldn’t change, especially if no one will see us. It’s a freeing yet constricting event. We are given free reign, but no one would know. This shouldn’t steer you away from changing though. “Dress for the job you want,” a phrase you’ve probably heard from your father at least once, as you leave for your first interview. Dressing in certain clothing puts you in a zone or mindset, you are more likely to achieve something if you are prepared for it. This puts me in a quandary as I power on my computer, “I still have two minutes, I bet I could change in a minute,” I say to myself.

For teachers, the responses showed that 65.1% changed in the mornings, 10.8% dressed from the waist up and left their pajamas on, 13.2% either said sometimes or depends on the day, 8.4% dressed in comfy clothing whether it be a pair of sweatpants or a sweater, and a very slim portion of the responses, just 2.4%, said no, they don’t change in the mornings—someone didn’t get the memo. Of the majority of teachers that said yes, 42.6% changed because it’s their job and made them feel productive. And within that group, 36.8% said it was a good start, and 4.4% changed because it’s their job.


“I still want to ‘appear professional’ to students and will put on nice blouses and sweaters. However, since students can only see my torso, I don't bother changing out of my comfy, stretchy pajama pants,” said one teacher; this highlights making a compromise. Many teachers face a lot of added pressure as they attempt to make interactive lessons that their students will engage in and learn from. Having to find the balance between work and home life, such as with the half-and-half outfit, will be sure to stick around.

I think it’s common knowledge that those who change will express their feeling of being more productive and having a sense of self-accomplishment. Putting on clothes is a change of mindset, and although I can’t explain, I feel an intense need to do something important with a fresh set of clothes. It’s similar to going on a spiritual self-growth meditative 3-week trip, but a lot cheaper. It also sets the boundary between work and life. Many teachers’ responses proved that teaching is their job, and they want to appear professional. It also sets boundaries and helps us to maintain focus. And lastly, it makes you feel fresh/clean and promotes productivity. This was the #1 choice why students and teachers changed in the mornings. Changing in the morning benefits you more than not changing.

Mrs. Humphreys going for

the casual hoodie/no makeup

Of the students that said no to changing, 11.8% said they don’t care, another 16.1% said they are too lazy, and lastly 12.9% said it’s just unnecessary. And 49% said all of the above. Many students are bound to feel tired or lazy when they are deprived of a structure they depend on, as Dr. Maury from Big Mouth would say, “Puberty is a thing and teenagers are going through many hormonal stages”. Not to add, student’s social lives are greatly affected when they can’t see their friends or participate in school events like prom, spirit days, and Hoco.


We are in unprecedented times as our dear and beloved President Trump keeps reminding us through a series of tweets. The normalcy of going to school is gone, and so there are bound to be a lot more factors that coincide with the decision to change your clothes for school. There really is no point to dressing up, you don’t have to turn on the cameras, nor are there any dress codes enforced. Your teacher wouldn’t know the difference. It really epitomizes being so close, yet so far away. But I applaud the “changers”, for their sheer effort they put into changing their clothes even if it is for a good cause. Mainly due to the circumstances, people have been reported feeling more depressed, anxious, isolated, and suicidal, so it’s an enormous feat to even conquer changing. Many may argue it’s virtual school is the same as normal school, but it’s nothing like that. Many students are suffering because of a lack of resources, toxic home environments, or have an inability to focus during class. Now, I commend FCPS for doing everything they can to help these students, but returning to school will take a while, so until our environment changes, remember to wear your mask, social distance, and keep in mind “life isn’t perfect, but your outfit can be”. Anyways, I gotta go, class is starting.


336 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page