top of page

Herndon’s Marvelous Winners of the FCPS Outstanding Employee Awards

By Emdad S, Social Media Manager

Each year, Herndon High School students, teachers, and staff nominate teachers and administrators for the FCPS Outstanding Employee Awards This year, we are pleased to announce the amazing winners: HHS Band Director Mrs. Jacoby, English teacher Ms. Rigsby, assistant principal Dr. Cronin, administrative assistant Ms. Manraj, and guidance counselor Ms. Fortier!

Outstanding New Teacher award winner, Ms. Rigsby said, “I was really flattered because a lot of my nominations came from students and I feel like that's the ultimate compliment to give your teacher. It really just brought me a lot of joy to know that I'm doing something right here. Clearly my students appreciate what I'm doing.” One student told us, “Ms. Rigsby is one of the most wonderful and caring teachers I've ever had." Last year was her first year at Herndon and she definitely has a lot more productive years to come!

Dr. Cronin, described by many as the ‘good vibes’ admin, was awarded the Most Outstanding School-Based leader award: “I love this place, I have been teaching in administration for 28 years and here at Herndon for three. I've gone to every single type of school. Every day at Herndon is a great adventure, it's never the same thing twice and that's what keeps me excited to wake up and come here every morning.” He added, “I have yet to have a year at Herndon that did not involve either COVID or a shutdown, and I am so looking forward to having one of those types of years soon.”

Outstanding Operational Employee, Ms. Manraj, who is the vibrant face in our main office and sometimes the voice on our announcements, has been at Herndon for 15 years. “I love interacting with everyone and I love helping people.'' Outstanding Professional Employee, Ms. Fortier said, “This award means so much to me because I take great pride in supporting students socio-emotionally, academically and with their post-secondary plans.” She added, “I am so thankful for students here at Herndon that have allowed me to enter their lives and are open to sharing theirs with me. The Herndon community makes it very easy to be my best.” Outstanding Teacher of the Year, Ms. Jacoby, prepared her band students in just one month’s time to perform at the National Parade of Heroes to honor our veterans; her determination and enthusiasm are one of the main reasons she also won this award! “I’m so grateful to be a part of the Herndon High School community, and for the students who took the time to nominate me. It is so rewarding to know my work makes a difference in their lives.” One student said, “Mrs. Jacoby is a great role model as band director and she helps us not only understand music, but enjoy it!”

Congratulations to our marvelous teachers who will continue to inspire our students here at Herndon!

203 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page