top of page

Going Pro: UVA Alumni, Bears Linebacker Charles Snowden's Road to Success

By Brody Bryan, Staff Writer

All young athletes, no matter the sport or level, share one common goal: go pro. But there’s more to being an athlete than the big crowds, big plays, and of course, big contracts. I sat down to talk with Chicago Bears linebacker and University of Virginia alumni Charles Snowden to learn more about his journey and the path he took to get to where he is today. Snowden actually started high school as a basketball player, and didn’t begin playing football until his junior year. “I went to one of the games in my junior year, and my best friend ended up making the game winning play. I caught the football fever, and after the game I asked the coach if I could join the team.”

Exiting high school, Snowden had an offer from Saint Francis University to play basketball, as well as an offer to play football for the University of Virginia. Snowden played outside linebacker at UVA for four years, racking up 15 sacks by the time his collegiate career was over, including one in the storied Virginia vs. Virginia Tech rivalry game in 2019, which resulted in UVA snapping their 15 game losing streak against the Hokies. “I think that was the best day of my life.” Snowden said. Snowden was signed as an undrafted free agent shortly after the end of the draft. “I was a little bit upset about not getting drafted at first, but when I actually thought about it I started to get the coolest feeling, knowing that I made it to the NFL and that I was a professional athlete.”


A big day for many young rookies is their first day in the city that they hope to become a top player for. Snowden described his feelings as unbelievable.

“I stepped off the plane and was like ‘Oh my god, I’m here. I’m a Chicago Bear.’ And right after that moment, I got right to work.”

Many people seem to think that professional athletes have very different lifestyles and personalities compared to the average person, which isn’t exactly true. Even with top players in the league like Khalil Mack, Snowden says that “You’d never be able to tell that some of these guys are making millions of dollars. I can still joke around with them, just like I would be able to with anyone else.” Snowden also believes that having a positive relationship with your teammates is one of the most important things when you get on to the football field. “It’s all about fighting for the guys next to you, and you all have to be there for each other and fight as a team.” Often when players make it to the NFL, they find themselves looking to add muscle and gain weight. Snowden is no different. “I’m trying to steadily gain weight, so I normally eat about 4,000 calories a day, and drink a gallon of water. It usually means that I'm eating around five meals a day.”


Rising to the top level of athletic performance, Snowden maintains that a strong work ethic is the key to accomplishing challenging goals. “Just dedicate yourself. If going pro is something you really want, just give it your all. Your path might not be perfect, but just work hard and be dedicated.”

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page